St Pauls

By: JohnnyTomorrow

Nov 13 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: History, Photography

6 Comments

Aperture:f/3.3
Focal Length:4.1mm
ISO:160
Shutter:1/200 sec
Camera:DMC-TZ8

I am always drawn to this image of the dome of St Paul’s Cathedral when I look through the images I took of London earlier this year.

It was essentially a grab shot as the Thames Clipper boat we were travelling on sped along the river. The Clippers waste no time gettimg from one stop to the next as they are essentially a passenger service not a tourist trip so I found myself trying to remember what the next landmark down the river was and then running from one side of the boat to the other to ensure I was able to get a shot of them.

Just as we slipped under the Millenium Footbridge I was able to quickly compose this image, focus on the dome and fire off a shot. Just the one so I was particularly pleased with the way it turned out.

St Paul’s Cathedral

The present St Paul’s is the fifth cathedral to have stood on the site since 604, and was built between 1675 and 1710, after its predecessor was destroyed in the Great Fire of London. This was the first cathedral to be built after the English Reformation in the sixteenth century, when Henry VIII removed the Church of England from the jurisdiction of the Pope and the Crown took control of the Church’s life.

The architect of St Paul’s was of course,, Sir Christopher Wren. Although he is now best known as an architect, he was also an astronomer, scientist and mathematician.

The Dome itself is built in the shape of a cross, with a large dome crown the intersection of its arms. It stands 111.3m (365ft) high, it is one of the largest cathedral domes in the world and weighs approximately 65,000 tons.

As always I value your thoughts and feedback on my images.

Please feel free to browse my archives

6 comments on “St Pauls”

  1. I love the fuzzy quality of the picture and the view point!

  2. Wow 🙂

  3. Great shot. The fuzziness and colours give the photo a retro film feel. It’s great to see two landmarks from a different angle.

  4. I am obsessed with St. Pauls…you cant have a better subject for all seasons…following is my collection 🙂
    http://photodates.blogspot.com/2011/11/spendour-of-god.html


Leave a Reply

